Added over 2 years ago

Minutes of the meeting of the Executive Board held immediately after the General Assembly Thursday – 6 November 2014 in the Windsor Atlantica Hotel, Rio, Brazil.


Minutes of the meeting of the Executive Board held immediately after the General Assembly Thursday – 6 November 2014 in the Windsor Atlantica Hotel, Rio, Brazil.

Present :
Mr Pedro Silva – President – in the Chair
Mr Jerry Wright
Mr Hormuzd Masani
Ms Arina Ureche
Mr Marco Bernasconi
Mr Magnus Paulsson
Mr Manuel Sala
Ms Iwona Szczesna

In Attendance :
Mr J Matthews representing
Macomm Management Services Sdn Bhd
Secretaries to the Association

The APABC Chairman, Ms Heather Craven, was not present at the meeting.

Chairman thanked members for electing him and the confidence they had in him. He praised Mr Jerry Wright for having accomplished so much in a short duration and said that it would be a tough act to follow. Mr Jerry Wright thanked the previous Executive Board members who had served for managing the affairs of IFABC diligently.

Chairman welcomed Ms Arina Ureche, Mr Marco Bernasconi and Ms Heather Craven to the new Executive Board. He spoke of the need of sharing responsibilities in taking the IFABC forward.

1. Treasurer -
Treasurer – On a proposal by Mr Jerry Wright and seconded by Ms Iwona Szczesna, Mr Hormuzd Masani was elected the Treasurer for the term 2014-2016.

Secretary – On a proposal by Mr Hormuzd Masani and seconded by the President, Mr Jerry Wright was elected the Secretary for the term 2014-2016.

2. Executive Board - It was agreed that the monthly tele-conference meetings will be held 10am, London time, on the 1st Tuesday of the month. The first meeting will therefore be held on 2 December 2014.

3. Projects:
- Communications – Mr Jerry Wright agreed to manage the PR with Eulogy.
- Newsletter – It was felt that the first newsletter would provide an opportunity to the President to introduce the new Executive Board, key highlights from the GA, new initiatives, and the proposal to change the name of IFABC. It was a agreed that a newsletter be produced 3-4 times a year.

- New Members – Mr Manuel Sala agreed to continue leading this portfolio.
Digital Editions and Publications – Chairman said that he would speak to Mr Glenn Hansen on two things – as the draft guidelines had been approved by the GA, it was necessary to distribute to the GA with the change to the metric ‘active views’ to ‘publication active views’; and to find out if there was a need to continue with the committee as the project had ended.

- Web Standards Group – Chairman said that he would speak to Mr Richard Foan on the need to continue with this Committee or rename it as proposed by the EB ‘ Digital Initiatives Committee’ which may generate new projects

- Central knowledge store – Ms Iwona Szczesna said that she will liaise with the vendor and manage it.

4. Future of 2015 ABC –Chairman said that this was an important report and felt that it should be continued with and updated. Ms Iwona Szczesna said that those who provided inputs should update the facts as some time has passed when it was collected. Chairman said that the report would be placed on the Members section on the website. He would speak to Ms Carolyn Morgan to obtain a quote to update and keep the report valid.

5. Survey – A member said that a survey be conducted to find out the value of the recently concluded GA, the reasons for non-attendance, what members expected etc. Ms Irina Ureche agreed to look into the matter together with the secretaries.

6. Anniversaries – Mr Jerry Wright said that he would be announcing at the Gala dinner, the names of the Bureaux achieving anniversaries:
Croatia – 5 years
Taipei – 10 years
Poland – 20 years
Singapore – 30 years
Spain – 50 years
Switzerland – 50 years
Argentina – 65 years
India – 65 year; and
AAM, USA – 100 years

7. The meeting was adjourned at 6.00pm.

Bookmark and Share

Posted by Australia at 11:45 am 0 Comments

Have your say


Next: Minutes of a tele-conference meeting of the Executive Board held 10am (London time) 20 October 2014.

Previous: ABC issues EDAA Trust Seal to Collective Europe